Dioon spinulosum?

Use this forum to discuss matters relating to Cycadaceae, Stangeriaceae, Zamiaceae and related plants. This is where one posts unknown plant photos for ID help.

Moderator: Geoff

Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#1  Postby Stan » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:58 pm

I bought this as a seedling at HD about 15 years ago. It was in a pot half that time..in part shade. Still flushed. Then I planted it..and it became too much shade as the King palms got up in the air. I dug it up 2 years ago..and almost no roots (gophers?). Then until now its been in a small recovery pot. Its first flush. I had no label. Plus its trunk doesnt look like my D.edule.
Attachments
IMG_6657.JPG
IMG_6657.JPG (239.84 KiB) Viewed 269 times
Stan
Ready to Bolt
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#2  Postby Dave Botha » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:48 pm

Stan how is the flush doing.
Dave Botha
Seedling
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:38 am

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#3  Postby Stan » Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:31 am

Dave,Not only did it flush those. After they had set? It then sent up a second flush of one leaf. Leaf edges are slightly serrated.
Next year,a bigger pot. When this cycad went in? It was down to one root. Gophers I think got it.
Attachments
IMG_7762.JPG
IMG_7762.JPG (148.05 KiB) Viewed 159 times
Stan
Ready to Bolt
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#4  Postby Steph115 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:32 pm

It's GORGEOUS! Even better given its history. Thank you for sharing Stan.
User avatar
Steph115
Ready to Bolt
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 10:42 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas | Zone 8a

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#5  Postby Dave Botha » Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:05 pm

Stan very nice, 2 flushes in one season that is excellent, it is going to be stunning in a couple of years. :U

I had one but I killed it, left it out in the cold. :(
Dave Botha
Seedling
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:38 am

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#6  Postby Stan » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:13 pm

Thanks Steph,Dave. It's another long plant journey. Yes,it should have 3' of trunk or more if I had just planted it in full sun in the ground. Despite that,it did manage a few leaves a year in part shade...then stopped. I think it was a 3 or 4 year stop. Thats when I dug it up to find virtually no roots. Gophers. So, another 2 year wait for what you see. Next year a bigger black pot. See if I can make it something in a shorter time.
Stan
Ready to Bolt
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Dioon spinulosum?

Post Number:#7  Postby Azuleja » Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:43 pm

You've done well to keep it alive so long and it looks like you're being rewarded. If you put it back in the ground protect those roots! Gophers are such a menace.
User avatar
Azuleja
Ready to Bolt
 
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:23 am
Location: CA | Zone 9a | Chaparral


Previous topic Next topic

Return to Cycad Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron