Hi there! A newbie here

Welcome to Agaveville! Please stop in and tell us a little bit about yourself and your gardening interests.
RCDS66
Offset
USDA Zone: 9B

Hi there! A newbie here

Post by RCDS66 »

Hello everybody
I am from Islamabad, Pakistan. My nick RCDS66 is neither an acronym for Royal College for Defence Studies, London nor for Rural Community Develpment Society. It's Roses, Cacti, Daffodils & Succulents; four areas of my prime interests in gardening nowadays. :lol:
Well, roses and daffodils are an old interest, going back over three decades but cacti & succulents are new. Ever since I built my house on a hill top a little outside Islamabad city two years back, I developed an interest in growing succulents and cacti primarily because they were amongst the plants naturally found on the mountain and also because I already had around 500 rose bushes that needed lot of water. So, I didn't want to add more water thirsty plants; hence cacti and succulents.

And when I entered the world of xeric plants I immediately realised what a fascinating thing it was and I was really missing something very profound over the years. So here I am, learning how to grow xeric plants and have already collected over 100 species. Most of the plants are young as larger specimens are very expensive in Islamabad and I want to have as many as I can possibly afford (may be little beyond that :) .

Other than gardening, I am an avid angler and hunter. Love shooting, both with rifle/pistol and with my camera; plant photos and landscapes being my prime area of interest in photography. Have great lust for travelling and besides visiting many far flung mountainous location in my country, have visited around 40 countries. Studying local cultures around the world is another prime area of interest.